Painted Ceramic Mug

Painted Mug 1

After seeing tons of ceramic mugs decorated with paint markers on Pinterest, I decided to hop on the wagon myself.  For this project, all I needed was a Pebeo Ceramic Paint Pen, a plain white ceramic mug (from Goodwill), and my oven.  My inspiration came from these images and tutorials that I found on Pinterest:

I decided to go with a simple geometric pattern that wouldn’t be too difficult to draw.  I followed the directions on the markers and found them very easy to work with.  At first I was frustrated with how imprecise the lines were but when Ben came home he was super excited about the design.  After working first in just the black, we decided to buy a red and a blue pen as well to bring some mid-century modern to the design.  Once I was done drawing on the mug, I let it dry for 24 hours and then fired it in my oven at 325°F for 35 minutes.

B enjoying a little coffee before class in the newly finished mug.

B enjoying a little coffee before class in the newly finished mug.

Overall, I’m really happy with the way it turned out.  I’ll definitely try this again with other designs because it was easy and would be a great way to make holiday gifts if the mugs were filled with hot cocoa mix or cookies.  The ink is supposed to be dishwasher safe after baking.  We don’t have a dishwasher, but I’ll let you know how it holds up to repeated hand washing.

Leave a Reply

