Steel Letter Opener

letteropener1

My father is a man of letters. He also gets a lot of mail. So for his birthday this year, I made him a monogrammed steel letter opener.

I was inspired by Folmer Christensen’s Half Moon letter opener, but I wanted something a little different.  Christensen’s design has sharp corners—I would worry about comfort of use.  I also dislike glossy finishes for objects that are touched often; satin steel shows fingerprints.  So my piece has slightly rounded corners, a frosted finish (via sand blasting), and my dad’s initial (the capital B from Didot Bold).

closeup of engraved monogram

Here are a few shots of the wrapper I made for it.

open wrapper letter opener in wrapper closed wrapper

Leave a Reply

